Day 203 of 366: Family connected through social media

I have family all over. Some are in Iowa. Some are in Wisconsin. And, while some live just ten minutes from me, we rarely see each other. Our grandmother was the glue that kept all of us in touch. For her, we celebrated regularly together. Grandma has been gone a few years. Now, with many of us married, had babies, and got busy. While we may gather for a baby shower here, or sadly for the funerals that are beginning, we don’t get together as a family every year. I am the youngest cousin. I had tried to put together some family gatherings for a couple years, but it was hard to get all together.

Today, though, we gathered for my cousin’s wedding. Even though I haven’t seen my cousins for quite a while, I do still feel connected to them. Many of us are connected on Facebook. I knew the groom liked Star Wars because of his profile pic, so I wasn’t surprised to see a Star Wars cake beside the beautiful white frosted cake.  I was able to carry on banter with my other cousins, since I knew what was going on in their lives. I did’t have to announce that I have a new job. Almost everyone knew.

I know there are dangers in social media. I know there are negatives. But, as my family gathered together today, I am blessed to know a bit of what is going on in their lives, thanks to Facebook. I understand the security concerns. I understand the privacy issues. But, I still cling to a lifeline to connect me to the people who matter most in my life, but who I rarely see.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *