Beyond Learning Names

I made my goal for the year to learn student names. This sounds like a superficial goal. But, throughout my teaching career, names have been my weakness. I could tell you what genre a kid likes to read from their face. I could tell you about their writing ability and passions when I was a classroom teacher. But, names have always been my weakness.

Learning names has been my professional goal of the year. Names have so much depth of a students’ story. Listening to the Jordana Green Show from 1-16-1 explains the importance of names at Hopkins North Junior High.

Hopkins North Junior High is using the origin of their students name to focus on diversity. IB Director Angela Wilcox, Principal Becky Melville and student Rekiyat Faith Agboola are in studio to talk about the program.

This week, one story stood out above others. The story of this North Carolina teacher shows the depth of connections the teacher has made with its teacher.  I can look at a student and remember which genre they prefer to read.

This teacher in the story makes such a deep connection with students that I admire. The article highlights a NC teacher who has personalized handshakes with each of his students.

Fifth-grade teacher Barry White Jr. creates personalized handshakes for each of the students in his three literacy classes — and he remembers them all.

“The most critical component is the relationship, the rapport you build with your students because sometimes it can go underrated or overlooked,” White told WCNC. “Before I’m able to deliver a substantial amount of content to them, they have to invest in the teacher.”

Check out the amazing story from Fox 8 about this extraordinary teacher: http://myfox8.com/2017/02/02/nc-teacher-has-personalized-handshakes-with-each-of-his-students/

Your Perspective: How do you get to know your students? What feature of the student do you remember the most? Name? Genre of reading? Writing level? 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *