Authority Questions

I shared multiple presentations this week about the reliability of sources. Authority is one area where I can give examples of the authority of a source or sponsor. I have not had a set description for exploring more about the author.

This article It really is about the questions from Bonnie Williams published on AASL Knowledge Quest has great questions for exploring authority.

Who wrote this?
For what purpose was this written?
How do they want me to feel?
How do they want me to act?
What are the sources of their numbers, charts, or other evidence?
Can we trace them back to their creator?… and then question the purpose and authority of those numbers also.

I love the focus on the intent of the author to affect the reader’s feelings and actions.

Your Perspective: How have you approached teaching to explore a source’s authority in an age where everyone can be an author?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *