Day 91 of 366: Talking to Every Student, Every Day

I want to keep tonight’s post simple.

One of the first concerns people often have when asking about the Flipped Classroom is if the technology de-humanizes learning. Does the teacher still interact with the students?

While working with a high school chemistry teacher on Thursday, he explained that this was his first year of a fully Flipped class. And, what struck me most was this comment…. “I get a chance to have a meaningful conversation with every student, every day about their progress in my class.”

To be perfectly honest, I remember very few days in my classroom teaching years where I could have made that statement. By removing 40 minutes of lecture each day, this teacher has found more time for the students. Flipping is not about spending more time with technology, but spending more time working directly with students.

When was the last time that you regularly connected with every student, every day?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *